Book Covers That Remind Me of World Famous Paintings #2 πŸŽ¨

This post was really fun to write and informative for me to research the first time, so I decided I wanted to do it again!

Here are some book covers that remind me of famous paintings. If you missed the first one, you can find my original post here!

The Night Watch by Rembrandt van Rijn

Recreating Rembrandt's 'Night Watch' with 3D printing and photography Β» 3D  Printing Media Network - The Pulse of the AM Industry
485894

The Night Watch is an oil painting done in 1642 by Dutch painter, Rembrandt. The title of the painting is misleading, as this scene is not meant to have taken place at night, but rather by the time the title was given to it in the 18th century, so much dirt and varnish covered the artwork that it gave the appearance of having taken place at night. The painting was commissioned by the city of Amsterdam and depicts civic guardsmen whose job was to maintain order in the city. This painting kind of reminds me of the cover of Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka. This book is about a man who turns into a beetle over night; I haven’t read it, but it sounds like an interesting concept! πŸ€” There are definitely not as many people on it as in the painting, but I can see parallels between the depiction of light in the middle, the dark colours people are wearing, as well as all the people looking in different directions.

The Ninth Wave by Ivan Aivazovsky

A Brief History of the 'Ninth Wave'
40189670

The Ninth Wave is an oil on canvas painting done in 1850 by Russian marinist painter Ivan Aivazovsky; this was his most famous work. What is known as the ‘ninth wave’ is actually a legend which says that the ninth wave in any storm is the strongest and most dangerous. In the painting, although the ninth, destructive, wave is approaching the sailors who are holding on to what is left of the mast for safety, there is also a depiction of hope through the colour scheme of the bright sky. The dark contrasting the bright reminds me of the cover for Josh and Hazel’s Guide to Not Dating by Christina Lauren. This book is on my TBR and I’m really excited to read it for the slow burn romance. I’ve loved Christina Lauren’s books so far so hopefully this one is no different!

Have you read either of these books? What did you think? I’d love to know!

– Catherine

Let’s connect! Goodreads | Twitter


12 thoughts on “Book Covers That Remind Me of World Famous Paintings #2 πŸŽ¨

  1. The cover for KafkaΒ΄s Metamorphosis is rather unusual. I am used to covers with various variations of insect. I do not think I have ever seen a cover with people! I read the book many years ago. I even came across an interesting variation of the story written by Haruki Murakami. Thank you for reminding me – I will search for it and read it again.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment